How to erase snapchat message


How to delete Snapchat message you accidentally sent to unwanted person before they or someone opens it, is it even possible to delete conversation on Snapchat when the messages have not been seen?

Carelessness sometimes happens when you are in a rush, such as sending a message to the wrong person in snapchat, a second later you realize it and your heart sank because a mistake that may not be too big, but it could be the most embarrassing thing in your life if the message you sent to the wrong person has been read.

In addition to self-destruct message that is the main feature Snapchat, you can also send messages as plain text. Snapchat message stored in the device’s storage, not in Snapchat’s servers, and they are not erased by itself. If you send a message to the wrong person, there is only one way to remove it before someone open or read it.

How to delete Snapchat message you sent before someone opens it

There are at least 3 ways that we have found to remove the message at Snapchat. In Snapchat’s support we could only find a way to delete messages on our own Snapchat account or phone and did not delete the message on the recipient’s phone. But you can still implement this method if you are a ninja and somehow be able to acquire the phone of the person who accidentally receive unwanted message from you
Clear the conversation on the snapchat’s message
Open the Snapchat app on the phone, and tap on the gear icon settings
how to delete snapchat message

On the “Account Actions” section, there is “Clear Conversations”, tap on it

also read:   How to Save Snapchat Video on Android and iPhone

how to erase snapchat messageChoose the person who receive your message, tap the “X” icon to clear or erase the message, if you are in control of that person’s phone, then you have to erase your own username there.

how to delete message on snapchat before someone opens in

Unsave the Snapchat message
The second way requires cooperation with the recipient of your message. In order to erase the message, both of you must swipe out of the chat by tapping on the message and then tap it again to unsave. When you receive a message and you tap it, this will save the message, but when you tap it again, it will erase the message. You need to ask the person who receives your message to do the same which is maybe will make that person curious and open the message before erase it.

also read:   Snapchat username ideas

Completely erase the snapchat message before someone read it by deleting your snapchat account.
If you are not a ninja, or you do not want to risk your message is read by unwanted person, you can perform this “kamikaze” way by deleting your snapchat account and create a new one, the messages already sent will be lost, the person receiving your message will not be able to see your messages. The problem is solved.

Of course you will lose all your friends in your snapchat’s contact , you have to go back to repeat the process of adding friends, gaining the score, trophies, and all that stuff, but I think it’s better than your embarrassing message was read by others, totally worth it i think.

Update: There is a new feature that allow you to unsend Snapchat messages.

Next time be carefull in selecting the person you want to send a message on Snapchat, you don’t need to erase snapchat message you sent before someone opens it

66 thoughts on “How to erase snapchat message”

  1. I accidently sent a really embarrassing video to someone and I really don’t want them to see it, will deleting my account stop them seeing it???

    Reply
  2. I deleted my account before they opened the picture but it had delivered before i deleted my account but was not opened. Would they be able to see it

    Reply
  3. So a lot of theory with if you can delete u snap u send to ur friends has been tested . And yes you can delete a snap u sent if you delete you account before ur friend has opened . Such as sending a embarrassing post on snapchat to the a friend. Ur heart and sinks and ur in panic. But all you have to do is delet ur snapchat account . I sended one test snap to a friend and told my friend not to check snap until I said so. I deleted my account and told my friend to check , and my friend said it was gone . He saw the notification go up but checked it when I deleted my account and it disappear. So this theory of deleting snaps you sent to friends can be delete by deleting ur account . It’s just a wonder question I been wanting to know. You’re welcome

    Reply
  4. I’ve sent a picture and it it’s not getting erased from the chat not me or the viewer have it saved so why is it still there? How can I get rid of it.
    I tried clearing the chat but it’s there it’s like it’s saved

    Reply
  5. I deleted my account to delete a snap I sent that was unopened, If I reactivate my account in the 30 Days will the snap send again?

    Reply
  6. i sent to my my friend i a video by mistake and that video he saved. now i want to remove that video, i want to ask how can i remove ??? any solution ????? please help

    Reply
  7. Will blocking someone and deleting them from your list prevent them from opening it? I accidentally did that before deleting the convo from my cache, but it disappeared anyway. Not sure if it just disappeared or if it was actually deleted. Any help would be great thanks.

    Reply
  8. I deactivated my snapchat account and it said it would delete in 30 days. Does the person I sent the video to still receive the video before the 30 days. Also if I log in before the 30 days would the person receive the video

    Reply
        • When you mean delivered do you mean open. Your answer is very vague. So are you saying even if I reactivate my account, if the snap wasn’t open before I deactivated, they wouldn’t get the snap after I reactivate?

          Reply
  9. I sent a snap to the wrong person. I blocked him before he opened it and then added back him. Will he be able to see the snap now or am I safe

    Reply
  10. If I delete my account and the person that i sent it too has not checked the message I sent and I reactivate my account will they be able to see the message.

    Reply
  11. If I reactivate my account will snaps that were delivered but unopened at the time of deactivation be available to be opened or are they forever gone?

    Reply
  12. I sent a picture to the wrong person. I blocked them thendeactivated my own account.. will they still be able to open the snap?

    Reply
  13. If the chat I sent says “opened” exactly after a month that I sent it, did the receiver really read the message? I was the only one who added him but he’s not following me back

    Reply
  14. I sent the wrong person a snapchat picture, so I quickly deactivated my account (hopefully) before they seem it. If I re activate my snapchat before the 30 day period, will that picture re send? Or is it gone forever?

    Reply
  15. If I sent a message to someone who isn’t myfriend on snapchat, I havent saved it or anything and it delivered. If I blocked them will they still get the message?

    Reply
  16. I sent a photo from my camera roll to someone on snap and I want it deleted, yet the person refuses to unsave it. If I delete my snapchat account will it erase the conversation ?

    Reply
  17. If I send a wrong snap pic to someone but blocked them before they can open it.. Will the snap still be gone if I add them back after blocking them?

    Reply
  18. Sent an unfinished text. No embarrassing pics just a message. I cleared the chat will that erase the message or can he still view it?

    Reply
  19. So I just deleted my account however it says I can deactivate it within 30 days. However if I deactivate my account would the unwanted snap end up eventually going through to the mistaken recipient? I don’t want to loose all my trophies and friends that I had on my account so I want to deactivate it but afraid that the snap that I mistakenly sent will be sent after I deactivate it.

    Reply
  20. it said that when u accidently delete your snapchat account that u can get it back as long as you sign back in in 30 days or less is this true

    Reply
  21. I accidentally sent an embarrassing photo to my crush and then without thinking I blocked them RIGHT afterwards they didn’t see it. Will they still be able to see it?

    Reply
  22. I possibly have a new one for you. If You were in a group chat and only one recipient opened and saw the snaps. You then delete your account. Can the others in the group still see it?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.